Five safety experts honored as ASSP Fellows

The American Society of Safety Professionals (ASSP), the world’s oldest professional safety organization, is bestowing the honor of Fellow on five longtime members who have made significant contributions to the occupational safety and health profession. Ashok Garlapati, Zack Mansdorf, Terrie Norris, James Thornton and Jeffrey Vincoli are the 2020 recipients of the Society’s highest honor.

“ASSP Fellows are the leaders in safety and have played key roles in advancing workplace environments as well as the profession itself,” said ASSP President Diana Stegall, CSP, CFPS, ARM, SMS, CPCU. “Their career accomplishments in helping to prevent injuries, illnesses and fatalities are a true inspiration.”

•  Ashok Garlapati, MBA, CSP, CFIOSH, QEP, is a health, safety and environment (HSE) consultant for the Drilling and Technical Support Directorate at the Kuwait Oil Company. He has more than 30 years of industry experience and has been a catalyst for several HSE initiatives that have led to major improvements. Garlapati helped enhance ASSP’s worldwide presence by forming international chapters and serving as the first Region 9 (global) vice president. He is a past ASSP Safety Professional of the Year and two-time recipient of the Society’s President’s Award. Garlapati has mentored many HSE professionals in Kuwait, Nigeria, India and other nations.

•  Zack Mansdorf, Ph.D., CSP, CIH, QEP, is a consultant in environment, health, safety and sustainability. His 40-plus years of experience include serving as a managing principal consultant for BSI EHS Services and Solutions and senior vice president for EHS at L’Oreal Group in Paris. Mansdorf is also a retired U.S. Army Lt. Colonel. He has made significant contributions to the safety practice by authoring seven books and writing chapters for many others. Mansdorf developed a white paper for the Center for Safety and Health Sustainability and helped create safety standards such as ISO 45001 and ANSI/ASSP Z16. He is past president of ASSP’s McKinley Chapter.

•  Terrie Norris, CSP, ARM, CPSI, is senior manager of risk control pooling at Sedgwick, a global provider of technology-enabled risk, benefits and integrated business solutions. Her more than 35 years of experience in safety and health includes a term as ASSP president and national recognition as one of safety’s most influential leaders. Norris is an international speaker and author of several books. She has made unique contributions to performance arts safety management and public playground safety while having taught industrial safety at the college level. Norris earned ASSP’s Culbertson Outstanding Volunteer Service Award in 2007.

•  James Thornton, CSP, CIH, is president of consulting firm Alpha Industries LLC and previously directed safety for 40 years at the nation’s largest builder and repairer of U.S. Navy nuclear-powered aircraft carriers and submarines. He led the creation of primary healthcare centers for families of maritime workers that serve more than 60,000 people. Thornton has given ASSP a strong presence in Washington D.C. through his extensive work in government affairs. He earned the Society’s President’s Award and is a two-time recipient of the Culbertson Outstanding Volunteer Service Award. He also taught occupational safety and health courses at two colleges.

•  Jeffrey Vincoli, CSP, CHCM, is managing consultant for technical services at Progressive Safety Management. His experience spans aerospace, aviation, construction, transportation, pipeline, oil and gas, maritime and government over nearly 40 years. Vincoli has authored nine books and 21 technical articles while contributing to emergency response, incident investigation and prevention through design. His ASSP work includes expanding its annual conference and developing bylaws. Vincoli has assisted NASA and made on-site contributions to the World Trade Center response. He has earned ASSP’s Culbertson Outstanding Volunteer Service Award.

The honor of Fellow recognizes an ASSP member’s lifetime commitment to occupational safety and health. Nominees must have a history of major contributions to the profession for at least 15 years. To see the Society’s list of Fellows dating back more than 50 years, visit ASSP Fellow recipients.

Share on Socials!

Related Articles

Related Articles

California returns to shutdown mode

Gov. Gavin Newsom on Monday ordered every county in California to halt indoor dining and bars, as well as shut down churches, gyms and hair salons ...
Read More

Do you need a helping hand?

With Honeywell, hand protection doesn't have to be complicated. Honeywell CoreShield™ range of cut-protective gloves are colour coded to make it simple to choose the right ...
Read More

Hear Ye, Hear Ye: Conservation Programs Mitigate Noise Exposure

A Joa diaper-making line was enclosed in an Eckel industrial enclosure to mitigate the noise produced by the machinery. (photo courtesy: Eckel Noise Control Technologies) The ...
Read More